Born this Way or Not? PT. 1

4 thoughts on “Born this Way or Not? PT. 1”

  1. SO, since you brought up a sticker for me, may I indulge in some commentary on one topic in your post? Seems to me that Christianity has painted itself into a corner when it comes to the sweeping cliché, “God makes no mistakes.” I AGREE, God makes no mistakes. However, when we USE this to mask the obvious problems caused by the Fall and it’s subsequent Curse, we ignore some serious issues hurting the world and the Body. Certainly, God makes no mistakes. I would agree that He knits us together in the womb (Ps 139:13). However, does that mean he unites every cell as we develop? If it does, when does He stop? I think He knits our souls to our bodies in the womb. But, our bodies (and souls) are from the outset subject to sin and all it’s consequences, including biological deformities, inherited disease, mutation, etc. YES, Christ said that the blind man was born that way so HIs Glory could be revealed (John 9:3). And, I’m not saying that God will not in certain circumstances intervene in the world or womb to direct certain developments needed to accomplish something through an individual. But, to think that God would MAKE a hermaphrodite, despite his or her DNA, puts some pretty weighty pressure on that trite excuse that God makes no mistakes. Let’s allow the Word to speak–with all it’s interwoven connections and depth–and not assume, because we find it comforting, that every mental or physical deformity is because God caused it.

    And, yes, having said all this, and not because I wanted to go here but because my comments beg the question: it’s reasonable to think that some people ARE born in ways that a simple X or Y cannot address (which is why I particularly appreciate your point above that there are many factors that affect the way a person makes decisions–because sexual acts ARE decisions). And I understand why believers are drawing lines. All I want to get across is that we need to be careful about our arguments, particularly the sound bite ones. Sorry if I hijacked your blog. Maybe it will spur some further discussion. Maybe not. I do hope you’ll reply, tho.

    Keep pressing on and posting on, Hope! Love ya!

    Like

    1. Carey

      Thanks for your input. The black and white view points of Born this way or its all choice; were contention points for me well before I Became a Christian. I found many Christians who were black and white and told me some pretty painful things about my sexual identity. So far as to imply that now that I was a Christian a magical power switch had flipped on and I was soon to be married and have children. Yeah that mentality did more harm than good for me.

      Having navigated the muddy waters of faith and sexuality for over seven years now; I can say my attractions have not changed. However my motivation for living has, I no longer live to please myself, seek to fill my needs and desires as I see fit, but rather I live to honor God with every aspect of my life including my sexuality.

      This journey has taught me that sin has a far reaching impact and as a Christ follower it would be foolish for me to ignore it. I believe affects of sin certainly can and do influence genetics to a degree. It is why we have illness, disease, and sickness in this world. It is also why people can be predisposed towards a wide variety of things.

      I will address this in more detail in next weeks post Gay or Sinner?

      Like

  2. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this info for
    my mission.

    Like

Leave a Reply

